People

When asked to describe myself I would say I’m a happy person. But lately I feel like I’m not myself. I don’t have motivation or energy to do anything, not even to do the things I like. It’s like being numb and tired all the time, and it sucks. I’ve been trying to think what might be causing this, and even though my depression and anxiety has some to do with it, it feels like something else is happening this time.

What has changed in my life in the last month?

Were those changes positive?

How am I feeling with all of that happening?

What about the people in my life?

I asked myself those questions (and more) when I was thinking about it, and for a while it felt like it was all me. But then, this morning, I was reading something and it was along the lines of “you don’t need negative people in your life, you don’t need any vampires sucking away you energy”. That was it.

For a while now I’ve been cutting toxic people from my life and getting away from drama and bs, but energy vampires? I kinda never really thought about it until now. What’s an energy vampire? Well, they’re the people who drain your energy, they only “take” from you. They can be friends, maybe your family or even your significant other, even some you just talk to at work. Here’s an old, but really cool post about it that I found.

Honestly, I have lots of those in my life, starting with my family, and since I’ve been spending a lot of time home it makes perfect sense that I’m feeling this way. Especially since when I go out for a while or I’m on my own I feel a little better.

So, what should I do?

Well, for starters I’m analysing every relationship I have and how it works, how it makes me feel? at the end of the day does it make me feel like I enjoyed myself or incredibly tired? Then I’m spending time on my own and with the people I know that make me feel better and happy, that inspire me and motivate me. Yes, sometimes it’s hard because maybe people we love can be stealing your energy. What I’m doing in those cases – like with my family- is being in control of the situation and trying to spend more time doing other stuff than engaging on situations that take my energy away and make me feel down.

Maybe, some would call it selfish but I don’t think it is. It’s something we all should do in order to become the better versions of ourselves. It’s a process, so it won’t happen overnight, and we also meet new people every now and then so we should be aware of how a relationship is affecting us.

What do you think of energy vampires? How do you handle this?

XO

Mary

Leave a Comment

