Serendipity

I think it was a like a month ago that I wrote a post saying how things never turn out the way we planned them but that I wasn’t sad I was not going to be studying a semester abroad, and that instead I was planning to backpack through Europe during the summer. Well, things have changed…again.

I´M GOING TO PRAGUE FOR NEXT SEMESTER!!!

I´m gonna be living here ^
I´m gonna be living here ^

I know, it´s unexpected and weird and amazing and a complete surprise and scary and I’m so happy I often found myself with tears of happiness in my eyes.

Long story short, after my application was denied for studying abroad the girl at the International Programs´ office sent me an email saying that some places for studying abroad and that if I was interested she could send my application. And there it was: Prague, my first choice! I quickly answered her email but apparently the spot was already taken. I was crushed. A couple of weeks later I received an email from IP saying that my application for the Prague program was successfully received. I was extremely confused and didn’t want them to charge me again the application fee so I immediately went to the IP offices and you can´t imagine my surprise when they told me that I’d been accepted as an exchange student in Prague! Apparently someone left the program and since I was first in the waiting list their spot was mine!

I still can’t believe this is happening, it’s like I’m in a dream. I have dreamt with this for as long as I can remember and now that it´s finally happening it doesn’t seem real. I can´t wait to be in Prague, meet all this people from around  the world, travel, try new things and learn as much as I can. There are no words to describe how happy I am.

serendipity-2

Life works in mysterious ways but if it´s meant to be, it´ll be. One of my favorite words is serendipity (I even have it tattooed on my ribs haha), it means to find something good without looking for it. I believe that some of the must beautiful and best things in life come this way, when you are not looking for them. It´s like you just stumble upon this great thing and I feel like this happened with me going to Prague.

Have you ever been in a situation like this? Do you believe in serendipity?

Have a great weekend!

xoxo

Mary

Leave a Comment

